Snow day

I apologize for my significantly long gap in posting.  Between being pregnant for approximately 9 months and then having our first baby, I’ve been a little busy!  Here’s to hoping I’m getting back into the swing of things now.

Yes, it’s spring.  Yes, it’s snowing.  I’m not complaining, because I would much rather take my dog for a walk in this beautiful snow than in 100+ degree heat.  If winter wants to stick around for a day or two longer, be my guest.

It is Sunday, and our church services were cancelled this morning due to weather.  What did this turn in to for our household?  A day of not deciding to shower until 2:00pm, watching Star Trek, and, of course, baking.  I have been wanting to make doughnuts for quite some time, but never got up the energy or motivation to complete this task.  Until today, our lazy snow day.

First mission was to find a recipe.  I found one that involved baking, not frying.  I will say that they certainly do not taste the same baked as they do fried, but they were still absolutely delicious in their own, yummy way.

Image

First, beat your egg & sugar.  The recipe called for superfine sugar, which I had and used. I have no idea how they would turn out with regular sugar… I imagine just fine.

Image

Image

Add your extract, flour, warm milk & yeast.  I chose to use chocolate extract because we had it in the house from my husband’s beer-making experiments.  Vanilla is just fine, or you can experiment yourself (almond or lemon extract come to mind that would be delicious).  I also only had 1% milk, where the original recipe called for whole milk.  1% worked very well, and saved a calorie or two.

Image

Beat in butter until broken up somewhat.  It was suggested to not add the rest of the flour until there were ‘no large chunks’ of butter left, but I am always impatient in the kitchen.  There were some medium-sized chunks – I figured no large ones, so I could go ahead, right?  The dough turned out just fine.  Oh, and I forgot to mention, I replaced 1/4 of the flour with chocolate malt powder.  My kitchen is always full of experimentation.

Image

Knead by hand for a few minutes.  Usually I dislike and skip this step, but this dough came out so incredibly perfect that I actually found kneading by hand rather therapeutic.

Image

After kneading, let it rise until doubled.  Then roll it out & cut.  At the suggestion of the blogger I took this recipe from, I used the lid of a mason jar for the larger outer circle, and a shot glass for the inner circle.  I initially thought they looked rather small, but they rose while they baked and ended up being the perfect size.

Image

Image

Put on parchment-lined baking sheets, cover with plastic wrap, let rise a little bit.  The constant waiting is why I have never mustered up the desire to actually make my own doughnuts until now – waiting for yummy food is so painful!

Bake at 400 degrees F for 5-8 minutes until deliciously golden brown…

Image

I melted some peanut butter & chocolate chips to drizzle on top.  Divine.  Then, try to not eat the whole batch yourself.  This last step is the most important, but also most difficult.

Editing notes: the chocolate malt flavor did not come through as strong as I would have liked.  Maybe next time I’ll try replacing 1/2 cup of flour with the malt powder…

You can find the recipe here.

One thought on “Snow day

Leave a Reply

