Lamb Cake

When I was a little girl, my mom & I would always make a lamb cake for Easter.  I decided I wanted to renew the tradition.  A cake shaped like a lamb is just..well…fun!  I found a lamb cake mold and got to work.

First step was to find a recipe.  Thanks to my favorite website, http://www.foodily.com, finding a recipe was a piece of cake (pun intended).  If you want the recipe for yourself, I will make it easy for you, and just click here.

Image

Because I only have one mixing bowl, I whipped the egg whites first.  I did not use a cold bowl, they turned out fine.  After moving the egg whites to another bowl, I then used the same bowl (no need to clean) to cream together the butter and sugar.

Image

I don’t always have cow’s milk in the house, as we tend to alternate between cow’s milk and soy milk.  I haven’t quite ventured into subbing soy milk for cow’s milk in baking recipes, so I keep powdered milk in the house as a back up.  It works quite well.  I also keep powdered buttermilk around, because, well, who can actually use up an entire carton of buttermilk?

Image

Add flour & milk alternately to the creamed butter & sugar, fold in egg whites, etc. etc., then pour into the front side of the cake mold!  And don’t forget to tie the back on, to ensure it doesn’t go anywhere.  Bake for 45 minutes or so, and then…

Image

Tah-dah!  Lamb cake!Image

I have to say, this was one of the best icing recipes I have made.  I always seem to struggle getting my icing the right consistency, but this one was perfect.  Maybe it was the combination of butter and shortening, or maybe it was the fact that it was Easter and God was on my side… but I will be using this recipe again.  Definitely not the healthiest icing recipe, but hey, it’s a holiday!

Image

Decorate with coconut, grass (aka coconut + green food coloring) … and it wouldn’t be easter without Peeps!  We tried to use some jelly beans for the mouth, but I think we did more harm than good.  Oh well.  It gave the lamb some personality?

I can’t wait until baby Gavin is old enough to help have fun decorating!

One thought on “Lamb Cake

  1. Looks delicious! One of my best icing recipes is also a combination of butter and shortening. It comes out delicious no matter what flavor you add to it!

Leave a Reply

